It’s the VOLVO Cross Country way…

One horrible night, my mom received a call, at around 9pm, dad was involved in an accident, a cow strolled into the road and he had a head on collision with it, we were all frantic, got into a car and drove to the scene of the accident.

4e476ac8-9de5-4895-9c27-c3fe3591b12e

We arrived at the scene of the accident and the car was a clear write off, the cow had unfortunately passed on, the scene was not a good one, after establishing what was going on, the biggest question on our minds was, in what state were we going to find my dad and on approaching the ambulance, my dad didn’t have a scratch, there was nothing wrong, from that moment forward till today I look at a Volvo and I remember how it saved my dad.

6af48151-1808-4663-bcee-fae9cb52c4e3

So when I received the Volvo V40 Cross Country, It felt so right because I knew that I was in the lap of safety, that is now fitted with the best technology, an awesome combo. One of the coolest features is lane keeping aid, on my drive, I drove very close to the next lane and the car not only warned me but it began pulling itself back into my lane, I was sooooo shook because It was too cool, the adaptive driving also means that it senses the car in front of you and adjusts itself, this whip requires so little effort to drive, its simply nuts

061-new-volvo-v40_1800x1800.jpg

For once in my car reviewing life, I cannot fault a whip, I don’t understand, it ticks all the boxes, a firm competitor for the Audi A3, BMW 1-Series and Mercedes Benz A Class. Hitting the road at 110kW turbo charged and a starting price tag of R430k, this is a great car for a young family who do odd outdoor adventures but it also has a great city look.

80c1116d-805e-4469-95e6-ca7d23110530

What an awesome car, big up to Volvo for not only retaining the safety badge but also switching it up with some cool technology.

Ntsako’s word…

The V40 Cross Country benefits from Volvo’s excellent interior design and quality, which makes it a nice car to sit in, particularly for a family hatchback. Volvo offers the Cross Country with a range of petrol and diesel engines, the most efficient of which is the D4 140kW diesel, which returned an impressive fuel consumption.

The Volvo V40 Cross Country is still an appealing alternative, offering sharp looks, supreme safety and excellent fuel economy.

Specifications

6522b29f-9862-4af2-84e8-303f7d74021a

List price: R532 200 (as at 01 July 2017)
Price as tested: R575 800
Colour: Rich Java metallic
Interior: Charcoal
Warranty: 5-year / 100 000 km warranty
Maintenance: 5-year / 100 000 km full maintenance plan
Engine, performance and efficiency
2.0-litre i4 twin-turbo diesel engine 8-speed automatic gearbox
140 kW @ 4 250 rpm 400 Nm @ 1 750 – 2 500 rpm
0-100 km/h: 7.5 seconds Top speed: 210 km/h
4.3-litres per 100 km (combined) 112 g/km CO2
62-litre tank.

Leave a Reply

